GermanKiwiGermanKiwi

My feedback

  1. 2 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      You have left! (?) (thinking…)
      2 comments  ·  General  ·  Admin →
      GermanKiwiGermanKiwi commented  · 

      I just saw a new comment added here today (I can't see it now - not sure where it went) - which claimed that the Post Expirator's "delete" option deletes the post permanently, rather than moving it to the Trash, and that this is because the plugin calls wp_delete_post() rather than wp_trash_post().

      However I don't believe this is correct. Firstly, I've been using Post Expirator with the "delete" option myself, and all of the deleted posts are in my Trash, they're not deleted permanently. Secondly, the wp_delete_post() function actually does send posts to the Trash by default, as long as its $force_delete parameter is set to 'false', which it is by default. The Function Reference page at https://codex.wordpress.org/Function_Reference/wp_delete_post explains, "wp_delete_post() automatically reverts to wp_trash_post() if $force_delete is false".

      Therefore I believe this feature request is not needed, because the plugin already does exactly this. :)

      GermanKiwiGermanKiwi commented  · 

      Isn't that what happens when you set it to expire with "delete"?

    • 9 votes
      Vote
      Sign in
      Check!
      (thinking…)
      Reset
      or sign in with
      • facebook
      • google
        Password icon
        I agree to the terms of service
        Signed in as (Sign out)
        You have left! (?) (thinking…)
        0 comments  ·  General  ·  Admin →
        GermanKiwiGermanKiwi supported this idea  · 
      • 8 votes
        Vote
        Sign in
        Check!
        (thinking…)
        Reset
        or sign in with
        • facebook
        • google
          Password icon
          I agree to the terms of service
          Signed in as (Sign out)
          You have left! (?) (thinking…)
          4 comments  ·  General  ·  Admin →
          GermanKiwiGermanKiwi supported this idea  · 
        • 47 votes
          Vote
          Sign in
          Check!
          (thinking…)
          Reset
          or sign in with
          • facebook
          • google
            Password icon
            I agree to the terms of service
            Signed in as (Sign out)
            You have left! (?) (thinking…)
            3 comments  ·  General  ·  Admin →
            GermanKiwiGermanKiwi commented  · 

            I would really love to have this feature too!

            For me, an ideal scenario would be having a separate schedule for removing the sticky tag. Because I'm likely to want to remove the sticky tag first (on a particular date/time in the future), and then to actually expire the post (per the current methods - change category or status or delete it) at an even later date. I suppose that might be beyond the scope of this plugin, but if it were possible, that would be wonderful! :)

            GermanKiwiGermanKiwi supported this idea  · 
          • 20 votes
            Vote
            Sign in
            Check!
            (thinking…)
            Reset
            or sign in with
            • facebook
            • google
              Password icon
              I agree to the terms of service
              Signed in as (Sign out)
              You have left! (?) (thinking…)
              3 comments  ·  General  ·  Admin →
            • 5 votes
              Vote
              Sign in
              Check!
              (thinking…)
              Reset
              or sign in with
              • facebook
              • google
                Password icon
                I agree to the terms of service
                Signed in as (Sign out)
                You have left! (?) (thinking…)
                2 comments  ·  General  ·  Admin →
                GermanKiwiGermanKiwi commented  · 

                What do you mean by "the archive for that category"? I don't believe WordPress categories have any kind of "archive" feature. A post simply belongs to a category, there is no separate "archive" part of a category.

                I'm not a developer of this plugin, but I believe this plugin merely automates changing certain aspects of a post's status that you can already change yourself manually - eg. deleting it, changing its category, changing its status to Draft, or changing its visibility to Private. These are all things that you can do yourself manually - this plugin just does one of those things automatically for you. My point is that the plugin can't do something which WordPress itself doesn't already do. :)

              • 115 votes
                Vote
                Sign in
                Check!
                (thinking…)
                Reset
                or sign in with
                • facebook
                • google
                  Password icon
                  I agree to the terms of service
                  Signed in as (Sign out)
                  You have left! (?) (thinking…)
                  6 comments  ·  General  ·  Admin →
                  GermanKiwiGermanKiwi supported this idea  · 

                Feedback and Knowledge Base